SomnIA Advisory Committee

The SomnIA Advisory Committee provides independent oversight of the overall project, including offering advice about effective communication and dissemination, and identifying recruitment and access strategies. The Advisory Committee meets every 9 months.


Professor Colin Espie (resigned April 2009)

Professor of Clinical Psychology in the Section of Psychological Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, and Director of the University of Glasgow Sleep Centre at the Sackler Institute of Psychobiological Research.

Dr Gillian Crosby

Director, Centre for Policy in Ageing

Dr Chris Hanning (Chair)

Head of the Leicester Sleep Disorders Centre (Retired), Honorary Senior Lecturer in the Division of Anaesthesia, Critical Care & Pain Management, University of Leicester              


Professor Mike Nolan

Professor of Gerontological Nursing
Sheffield Institute for Studies on Ageing,
Community Sciences Centre,
Northern General Hospital,

Dr John Shneerson

Consultant Physician, Papworth Sleep Labs,  Papworth Hospital, Cambridge, President of the British Sleep Society

Professor Christina Victor

Professor of Gerontology and Public Health, Director of the Doctorate in Public Health (DrPH), School of Health Sciences and Social Care, Brunel University, Uxbridge

Dr Luci Wiggs

Department of Psychology, Oxford Brookes University

Professor Bob Woods

Professor of Clinical Psychology of the Elderly, University of Wales, Bangor